Saturday, December 06, 2008

Gelatin

So Jonathan is thinking alot about marshmallows. You can't buy them here (and probably never will be able to) because Marshmallows are not Hallal (nor would they be kosher). Most Marshmallows are made with gelatin which contains pork products. Little did we know this until some friends told us about it. We had always thought it was the problem of living in the tropics- things turn to goo whether they are supposed to or not in this heat. Hadn't really put alot of thought into it.

Anyway, Jonathan is thinking about marshmallows and I started surfing through some sites and I come to the problem - what is measurement of a package of gelatin? Recipes that use the words "1 package" or "1 can" drive me nuts. Some things I buy here are out of the US market but most are made for Asian markets which usually means different sizes and recipes.

Thanks for your help enabling our gluttony.
Post a Comment